Change a blade’s configuration

This page describes how to override the default configuration of Caplin Platform blades.

Warning: before running any Deployment Framework (DFW) command that configures the framework, use the DFW stop command to stop all running core components and adapters. DFW commands that configure the framework include: deploy, activate, deactivate, redeploy, rollback, delete, erase, hosts, and java.

Contents:

Customising a blade's configuration

Some blades supplied by Caplin come with configuration overrides that are defined in blade subdirectories of global_config/overrides. You can override the configuration of these blades by editing the files in these subdirectories.

For example, Caplin supplies a RefinerService blade for the Transformer. When this blade is deployed for the first time, the deploy command (./dfw deploy) copies the RefinerService/Transformer/etc directory to the overrides directory global_config/overrides/RefinerService. You can then override the configuration of the RefinerService blade by editing the configuration files in global_config/overrides/RefinerService.

Tip: You don't normally need to customize built-in Config blades, other than to change port numbers (see Check port numbers in How can I... Change server-specific configuration).
Tip: When you've changed the configuration of a production system, we recommend that you run the dump command immediately, before restarting the system. The most up-to-date configuration data will then be readily available if Caplin Support need it to help fix a problem with your running system. If you don't run dump before restarting, you'll have to stop the running system to get the configuration needed to diagnose a fault, or copy the configuration manually from the various directories where it's located.

Upgrading a blade that has custom configuration

If a blade is already deployed with configuration overrides, when a new kit for that blade is deployed, the new kit doesn't remove or modify the existing overrides. However, when you deploy the new kit, the Deployment Framework does warn you when the new kit contains configuration overrides that clash with your existing overrides and details the clashes.

If there are clashes, you should compare the configuration overrides in the new blade kit against the existing overrides for the blade as defined in global_config/overrides, and manually merge any differences.

Tip: The release note for the blade will detail any changes to configuration overrides in the blade kit.

See also: